Skip navigation

Power resilience for a net zero world

Contact Us


Distribution Network Operators

Distribution Network Operators (DNOs) own and operate the energy distribution networks that connect a site to the national grid. Each holds a licence to distribute energy in the UK. Responsible for the network of cables, transformers, towers and meters that deliver power to end users. In most cases, they should be your first port of call in the event of a power cut.

Our energy infrastructure is made up of the transmission network, operated by National Grid at high voltages, and the Distribution network that then delivers power at safe, usable voltages to industrial, commercial and domestic users. DNOs are responsible for this distribution network.

Currently, 14 regional licences cover the UK, held by six different organisations. SSE is responsible for North Scotland, and Southern England. UK Power Networks cover East and South East England as well as London. Western Power Distribution cover the East and West Midlands, South Wales and South West England. SP Energy Networks cover both South and Central Scotland and a region comprising North Wales, Merseyside and Cheshire. Northern Powergrid covers Yorkshire and North East England, while finally the North West is covered by Electricity North West.

Contact our team to see how we can help you achieve your business’s energy objectives, save money and achieve net-zero.

Contact Us Today


This website uses cookies. You can read more information about why we do this, and what they are used for here.

Accept Decline